Finally Getting Started

This week, I was finally able to start doing something that I have been striving and working to do for quite a while.

I was able to start working on my YouTube gaming channel.

Now, it may not seem like much, and it may not seem like it’s really that hard of a thing to do, but truth be told, it takes a lot of work, effort, and technology to properly and successfully make a Let’s Play. And before anyone thinks I’m claiming to be a success or a pro, I’m definitely not either of those things. I am just beginning, and I have a long way to go. But I have been satisfied with what I have been able to do so far.

Over half a year ago, I first created my channel with the hopes of my computer being able to manage all of the programs it takes to play a game, run a screen capture program, record audio through a microphone, and record myself through a webcam all at the same time. I was all excited when I downloaded the necessary tools, watched hours of videos explaining how to set everything up, and bought several good games so that I would have plenty to play and have fun doing while making videos. Sadly, my computer (which is way out of date, and is extremely lacking in the processing capabilities department) was not able to successfully run all of the things that I needed.

After that failure, I tried several different ways and configuring to at least TRY and get something done, but nothing seemed to work. What it had come down to was needing a better computer that could handle all of the programs. But new computers aren’t cheap, and I did not have that kind of money to spare on something that I wanted to do for a hobby.

So I put that goal on the back burner and focused my time on other things.

I focused on my other hobbies.

I worked for three solid months on nearly finishing up my first novel. I participated in NaNoWriMo in November. I spent more time playing my guitar and writing songs. And I went to the gym more regularly and got in better shape.

To be honest, I think it was a blessing in disguise for it not to work out eventually. I got a lot of good things accomplished in that time span.

But a few weeks ago, my wife and I started discussing the idea of investing in a better computer – partly for business, partly for pleasure. I was very hesitant at first, because I still knew how much money it was going to cost us. And after a lot of thought and discussion, we decided to go for it.

Needless to say, it has been about a week since our investment, and I am extremely excited in our decision. Both of us were working with laptops that were 4-7 years old, and could barely hold a charge when disconnected from the power source. Heck, they didn’t even connect to the internet sometimes.

But now we have a nice desktop, and are slowly creating an office room for us in our house.

And as far as being able to make videos now – it works perfectly! Although that was not the deciding factor in choosing to buy a new computer, I had high hopes that this would actually be one that would allow me to pursue this new hobby. I have uploaded three videos to my channel at the time of this post, and plan to release many more in the coming weeks and months. I hope to one day be able to entertain a lot of people with my videos, and maybe even use it to help others. But even if that day never comes, I will continue to enjoy it, because I have fun doing it, and it makes me happy.

 

No matter how long it takes, whether six months or ten years, never give up on working towards your goals!

 

-Turqey Jurque

 

If anyone wishes to follow me, watch a video, or subscribe to my channel, I will greatly appreciateĀ it!

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

